The IFIP TC13 Pioneer in Human-Computer Interaction Award

IFIP TC13 appoints Pioneers to honour the greatest contributors to the development and growth of the field of human-computer interaction (HCI). An IFIP TC13 Pioneer in Human-Computer Interaction is one who, through active participation in IFIP Technical Committees or related IFIP groups, has made outstanding contributions to the educational, theoretical, technical, commercial or professional aspects of analysis, design, construction, evaluation and use of interactive systems. The criteria for the award include IFIP involvement through IFIP TC13, TC13 Working Groups (WGs) or in the organization of the INTERACT conference, multiple publications at INTERACT, a significant research contribution (possibly with specific/new application domains), or being a HCI pioneer in the original meaning of the word, either in the area of HCI or in a local area (region or country) in the world.



Year Awardees
2023 Gilbert Cockton (United Kingdom), Marta Lárusdóttir (Iceland), Mark Apperley (New Zealand), Janet Wesson (South Africa), Torkil Clemmensen (Denmark)
2020/2021 Marco Winckler (France), Peter Forbrig (Germany), Ann Blandford (United Kingdom), John M. Carroll (USA), Manfred Tscheligi (Austria), Monique Noirhomme-Fraiture (Belgium)
2019 Anirudha Joshi (India), Geraldine Fitzpatrick (Austria, Australia), Helen Petrie (United Kingdom, Australia), Masaaki Korusu (Japan) and Simone Diniz Junqueira Barbosa (Brazil)
2016 Jan Gulliksen (Sweden), Alistair Sutcliffe (United Kingdom) and Susanne Bødker (Denmark)
2015 Julio Abascal (Spain), Philippe Palanque (France) and Annelise Mark Pejtersen (Denmark)
2014 Paula Kotzé (South Africa), Fabio Paternó (Italy), Clarisse Sieckenius de Souza (Brazil)
2013 Joëlle Coutaz (France), John Karat (UK), Gitte Lindgaard (Canada, Australia), Zhengjie Liu (China), Gerrit van der Veer (Netherlands)
2010  Brian Shackel (United Kingdom), Liam Bannon (Ireland)